Academy of the Oppressed #AdjunctChat – Transcript 14 Jan

Academy of the Oppressed #AdjunctChat // <![CDATA[

Academy of the Oppressed #AdjunctChat

#AdjunctChat on 14 Jan, 4:00pm EST, facilitated by @IshaiBarnoy

  1. Now less than 5 minutes till #AdjunctChat. Join in whenever, and I’ll eat my sandwich, drink my tea, and talk with you.
  2. #adjunctchat has anyone ever negotiated a higher pay rate for a last minute course appointment?
  3. Welcome to #AdjunctChat! Today’s topic is “Academy of the Oppressed.” We’ll start with questions soon. Meanwhile, please introduce yourself.
  4. @Comprof1 #AdjunctChat I certainly haven’t! Contemplated it briefly today. Anyway, won’t you introduce yourself to whomever’s here?
  5. I’m Ishai, writer, artist, actor, general creative, and (I admit) dilettante, employed as an #Adjunct for >5 years. #AdjunctChat
  6. #AdjunctChat is open and welcome to all who have an interest in issues related to #adjunct, #contingent, and non-FT or non-TT faculty in HE.
  7. RT @JeffreyKeefer: We are excited to have @IshaiBarnoy facilitate this week’s #AdjunctChat. His topic is “Academy of the Oppressed”…
  8. @IshaiBarnoy I’m Virginia Yonkers, 24th yr as adjunct in Marketing/Mgmt/edu/communication/ESL/international business. #adjunctchat
  9. RT @IshaiBarnoy: Welcome to #AdjunctChat! Today’s topic is “Academy of the Oppressed.” We’ll start with questions soon. Meanwhile, please…
  10. I am Jeffrey Keefer and I teach as an #adjunct at New York University and at Pace University, both here in the middle of #nyc #AdjunctChat
  11. #AdjunctChat Alright, let’s get started with our first question, Q1: What’s going on? Tell us about a trouble you’ve witnessed in higher ed.
  12. @JeffreyKeefer Don’t know if that is a wow good or wow can’t believe you put up with it so long! 😉 #adjunctchat
  13. @Comprof1 @JeffreyKeefer #AdjunctChat Q1: Tell us about one thing you’ve had to put up with in this period. I’m curious.
  14. @IshaiBarnoy Great to see you here; you certainly have a passionate interest in #adjunct issues #AdjunctChat
  15. @JeffreyKeefer @Comprof1 #AdjunctChat I’m an #adjunct; that’s my only source of employment and income. No FT work as of yet.
  16. @IshaiBarnoy @IshaiBarnoy I am FT teach Spanish language, culture and literature at Berkeley City College / also DE coordinator #adjunctchat
  17. @IshaiBarnoy I’ve seen real change over my yrs from core of profs augmented by adjuncts to a small core of admins makng policy #adjunctchat
  18. @JeffreyKeefer @Comprof1 #adjunctchat Forgive me if I use contentious terminology, such as “put up with.” I’d like to explore difficulties.
  19. @IshaiBarnoy @JeffreyKeefer #adjunctchat My biggest problem has been class size (ave 40-45 for reg classes) & no access to FT jobs from dept
  20. @IshaiBarnoy That must be a challenge to rely on #adjunct work as FT income. How many courses do you teach? #AdjunctChat
  21. @IshaiBarnoy @JeffreyKeefer We also are getting the k-12 admin creep w/ more and more admin required. #adjunctchat
  22. @Comprof1 #adjunctchat Tell us about this change. What do the faculty and the admin do at your school, for the most part?
  23. @IshaiBarnoy Ahh. Q1 For difficulties, I would say either administration turn-over OR lack of communication #AdjunctChat
  24. @IshaiBarnoy Fac used to have more say in majors and curriculum. NY state schools now are centralizing this (62 campuses). #adjunctchat
  25. #AdjunctChat A1: The trouble I notice in my school is mostly low pay, no benefits to adjcts compared with high costs, low yield to students.
  26. @injenuity w type of flexibility? we also have steps and also columns for degrees @Comprof1 #adjunctchat
  27. @fabianbanga @IshaiBarnoy Yes. But its a state school. NY state has taken hard line against all state unions. #adjunctchat
  28. @injenuity @fabianbanga @Comprof1 Welcome to #AdjunctChat, Jen. Feel free to jump in or just supplement our discussion as you like.
  29. @JeffreyKeefer Depends on the dept for the schools I’ve taught at. Usually invited adjuncts for input. #adjunctchat No longer true.
  30. @IshaiBarnoy Q1 I am amazed with the combined tuition payments of those in my room compared to how little I make from it #AdjunctChat
  31. Alright, #AdjunctChat. Let’s throw Q2 into the mix: What’s would be a better picture? Tell us what a result you feel you “own” looks like.
  32. @injenuity @Comprof1 the columns are degrees and # are years of work calculated by a formula. #adjunctchat
  33. @Comprof1 @fabianbanga @IshaiBarnoy Interesting; at NYU there is a union though with tremendous faculty so it seems to struggle #AdjunctChat
  34. @Comprof1 @fabianbanga #AdjunctChat That’s unfortunate. The state board where I work also famously anti-union. The only hope might be SAIC?
  35. @IshaiBarnoy Q1 If there is such low pay, what has kept you there doing #adjunct work for several years? #AdjunctChat
  36. RT @IshaiBarnoy: Alright, #AdjunctChat. Let’s throw Q2 into the mix: What’s would be a better picture? Tell us what a result you feel you…
  37. @JeffreyKeefer @IshaiBarnoy I think esp true at private schools School I’m considering neg pay is private & offers >1500/course #adjunctchat
  38. @JeffreyKeefer #AdjunctChat Honestly? This is the best bang for the buck that I got straight out of my MFA! And “retooling” is expensive.
  39. #AdjunctChat A2: I want to see smaller classes, students intensively guided toward guaranteed (if rudimentary) work placement, & benefits.
  40. Q2 I wonder why there is so much administration turn-over? Hard for stability without structure #AdjunctChat
  41. @JeffreyKeefer #AdjunctChat Well, I had a summer of grief and difficult-to-answer questions during dates before I won that mini-lottery.
  42. @IshaiBarnoy Not sure I agree with work placement. Career goals, yes. I see part of problem is uni=workplace training today #adjunctchat
  43. @JeffreyKeefer #AdjunctChat What kind of structure for faculty and admin would you like to see?
  44. @IshaiBarnoy would rather see ethical marketing of college (I have 2 in college now). #adjunctchat
  45. @Comprof1 @IshaiBarnoy Universities seem increasingly focused on education as commodity, and thus only cost / benefit focused #AdjunctChat
  46. @Comprof1 Ok, 3 units. We are close to $3K almost twice that pay. But life is very expensive here. @JeffreyKeefer @IshaiBarnoy #adjunctchat
  47. @Comprof1 #AdjunctChat I accept your criticism, while I disagree. For most of my students, education, however liberal, implies employment.
  48. #AdjunctChat I’m perfectly with you there! RT @Comprof1 would rather see ethical marketing of college (I have 2 in college now)
  49. @injenuity @Comprof1 I see; we do not negotiate steps but automatically go up every year. #adjunctchat
  50. @fabianbanga @Comprof1 @IshaiBarnoy Those costs are fine if edu is only about a product (=better job); then supply and demand #AdjunctChat
  51. @fabianbanga Actually, my current adjunct pay is affordable, but private school offered pay at $1500 lower for same job #adjunctchat
  52. @injenuity @IshaiBarnoy No, though from my experience it seems to all go toward expansion and high TT perks #AdjunctChat
  53. #AdjunctChat A1: I love teaching & I love improving my practice. Would like more consistency w/ classes & be able to improve.
  54. #AdjunctChat A1: I love teaching & I love improving my practice. Would like more consistency w/ classes & be able to improve.
  55. Alright, #AdjunctChat-ers! Let’s throw Q3 out there, too: What could you/we do tomorrow to move from one of these A1’s to one of there A2’s?
  56. We are 30 minutes into today’s #AdjunctChat, so still not too late to join if you want to interact and engage!
  57. RT @AdjunctChat: We are 30 minutes into today’s #AdjunctChat, so still not too late to join if you want to interact and engage!
  58. @LitProfSuz #adjunctchat YES! I’d also like to teach some courses TT teachers have taken hostage!
  59. @Comprof1 I know because my wife teaches adjunct at private school, different reality #adjunctchat
  60. @LitProfSuz #AdjunctChat Welcome, Suz! What could you/we do to move toward such a consistency and ability to improve?
  61. #AdjunctChat A1: Would also like a mentor, or trusted colleagues who could lesson study w/ me. FT needs eval for tenure, so kinda built in.
  62. #AdjunctChat A1: Would also like a mentor, or trusted colleagues who could lesson study w/ me. FT needs eval for tenure, so kinda built in.
  63. Q2 I keep thinking that changes in HE follow those in (USA) society, where everything is around costs and gains = commodities #AdjunctChat
  64. #adjunct issues come up when trying to save money; this is easiest when the job pool is larger than the demand #AdjunctChat
  65. @Comprof1 @LitProfSuz #AdjunctChat Oh, talk about courses taken hostage! And times of the day, too! I know that pain.
  66. @JeffreyKeefer @LitProfSuz If professional development is such a key issue why are instructors left out of the equation? #adjunctchat
  67. RT @LitProfSuz: #AdjunctChat A1: Would also like a mentor, or trusted colleagues who could lesson study w/ me. FT needs eval for tenure,…
  68. @LitProfSuz Schools I taught at required dept head or other to sit in and review class. Do you have a center for teaching? #adjunctchat
  69. @LitProfSuz #AdjunctChat How would you see yourself finding a mentor or trusted colleague, wherever it is you could look?
  70. I wonder if the HE focus on costs and supply / demand only blurs the uni mission and vision? #AdjunctChat
  71. I wonder if the HE focus on costs and supply / demand only blurs the uni mission and vision? #AdjunctChat
  72. @LitProfSuz Our school has a center for teaching excellence who will come in and observe class & give feedback. #adjunctchat
  73. @Comprof1 We have a wonderful Teaching Center that I’ve used alot but it is focused mostly on technology integration #adjunctchat
  74. @LitProfSuz I did that last yr (1st time in 15 yrs). Was well worth it. #adjunctchat
  75. Do you see solidarity (or lack of) from FTs (FT adjuncts and tenured) & Chairs? #AdjunctChat
  76. Do you see solidarity (or lack of) from FTs (FT adjuncts and tenured) & Chairs? #AdjunctChat
  77. @fabianbanga I tell colleagues in the UK and Europe that the gravy train of gov support for edu will follow the US model ASAP #AdjunctChat
  78. @Comprof1 #adjunctchat Good idea. My last uni had that but I didn’t use. I wiil ask around.
  79. @fabianbanga #AdjunctChat Good question! I see a bit of solidarity, mostly in the form of mentoring. Nothing by way of labor relations.
  80. @IshaiBarnoy I too have 2 kids in college and the huge amount of money that is required to finance HR stresses finances for all #adjunctchat
  81. @Comprof1 @LitProfSuz I find faculty and instructors make the worst students. I hate being observed after all these years #AdjunctChat
  82. @Comprof1 yes because I am in education I have asked TT faculty to observe this year. The field is changing so much #adjunctchat
  83. @fabianbanga #AdjunctChat Sometimes I wonder to what extent the FT’s at my school (on 1-/3-year contracts) are also “precariously employed.”
  84. @IshaiBarnoy #adjunctchat I don’t know that I have much say, but I know the course improves each time. One class I taught 3x over 4 yrs.
  85. @fabianbanga People are so overworked and busy, so while they mean well, they are not quite engaged enough to be supportive #AdjunctChat
  86. @MMstrikesback That’s @Comprof1 with the 2 kids. Me, I worry I won’t be able to support kids. #AdjunctChat
  87. @JeffreyKeefer @LitProfSuz that’s why it took 15 yrs to do it for me! And then it was only as a requirement to get a grant! #adjunctchat
  88. @JeffreyKeefer @Comprof1 I think it depends on trust & context. I supervise Std tchrs. Feedback is very important.#adjunctchat
  89. @LitProfSuz #AdjunctChat That’s wonderful to hear! Improvement! Some #adjunct faculty are taking to the net, publishing working syllabuses.
  90. @fabianbanga I’ve noticed a culture of fear from TT recently and it appears to be the case they are worried about MOOCS #adjunctchat
  91. @JeffreyKeefer #AdjunctChat I’m in Community College. Tenure was abolished throughout my system — as far back as, maybe, the 60s?
  92. @fabianbanga @IshaiBarnoy That precarious reality means costs and savings have to be adjusted to prep for growth /transforming #AdjunctChat
  93. @JeffreyKeefer @IshaiBarnoy No. That is contingency or visiting faculty. I’ve done that also. Had to leave after 4 yrs #adjunctchat
  94. @JeffreyKeefer And yet there is enormous funding for certain projects and nobody has any idea where it comes from! #adjunctchat
  95. Well, dearest #AdjunctChat-ers, I’m going to have to start getting ready for class. Any last thoughts to share?
  96. @IshaiBarnoy While 40 years ago is a long time, I wonder if TT changes mean only the most in demand or connected will remain? #AdjunctChat
  97. @MMstrikesback @fabianbanga Our univ cut out some liberal arts mjors (not courses) to replace TT w/ cheaper contingency #adjunctchat
  98. @IshaiBarnoy well just being replaced by online learning. So many are already finding ways to hybridize their courses #adjunctchat
  99. @JeffreyKeefer #AdjunctChat That’s certainly the sensation I’m getting. The toughest survive.
  100. @fabianbanga I love teaching! I had two great classes today. They students are awesome keep forgetting how much I love to teach #adjunctchat
  101. #adjunctchat A3: I mentioned last week @ submitting a session for adjuncts @ a national conf. Time 2 network & support each other.
  102. @fabianbanga I love teaching! I had two great classes today. They students are awesome keep forgetting how much I love to teach #adjunctchat
  103. @MMstrikesback #AdjunctChat My only criticism of this issue is: Students with something of a clue find online access a great relief.
  104. @fabianbanga @MMstrikesback Next week I’ll be addressing online adjunct challenges on #adjunctchat including misconcpt that MOOCs=online lng
  105. @fabianbanga @MMstrikesback Next week I’ll be addressing online adjunct challenges on #adjunctchat including misconcpt that MOOCs=online lng
  106. @LitProfSuz students need the interaction, prepares them for real life and the relationships will help them in work endeavors. #adjunctchat
  107. RT @Comprof1: @fabianbanga @MMstrikesback Next week I’ll be addressing online adjunct challenges on #adjunctchat including misconcpt that…
  108. We are nearing the end of this week’s #AdjunctChat with @IshaiBarnoy, though we invite people to continue replying to the conversation!
  109. @IshaiBarnoy @JeffreyKeefer Also I think adjuncts are held to different standard. Not nec higher but different #adjunctchat
  110. @MMstrikesback @LitProfSuz I agree. YOUNGER students w/out a learning community to support. But online is good for non-trad #adjunctchat
  111. Folks, I’m checking out for today. Keep replying to the #AdjunctChat handle, and we’ll see you later, asynchronously. My best to all of you!
  112. @JeffreyKeefer @IshaiBarnoy // back to my program review. great #AdjunctChat everyone // hope to see u next week.
  113. RT @Comprof1: @IshaiBarnoy @JeffreyKeefer Also I think adjuncts are held to different standard. Not nec higher but different #adjunctchat
  114. Very engaging #AdjunctChat this week; thanks all who could take the time during the day!
  115. @JeffreyKeefer @IshaiBarnoy Adj need to bring something different, but not perceived as equal in scholarship (my experience) #adjunctchat
  116. Next week’s #AdjunctChat will feature @Comprof1 whose topic is “Challenges and strategies for Online adjuncts” Tues, Jan 214:00pm EST
  117. Interested in facilitating #AdjunctChat? Easy, quick, clean, and open to anybody interested in #adjunct issues!  http://adjunctchat.wordpress.com/ 
  118. Oops! Missed #adjunctchat for today. I’ll check back another time.

2 thoughts on “Academy of the Oppressed #AdjunctChat – Transcript 14 Jan

  1. Pingback: I am not sure I like the way @Storify stories appe… | Silence and Voice

  2. Pingback: Transcript (Simple Text) from #AdjunctChat on 1/14/14 | AdjunctChat

Leave a Reply

